MINUTES OF A JOINT MEETING OF
EXECUTIVE, COMMITTEES, SUB-
COMMITTEES AND PANELS HELD IN THE
COUNCIL CHAMBER, WALLFIELDS,
HERTFORD ON WEDNESDAY 14 MAY
2014, AT 8.05 PM

Councillor R Beeching (Chairman) PRESENT: Councillors D Abbott, M Alexander, D Andrews, W Ashley, P Ballam, E Bedford, E Buckmaster, S Bull, A Burlton, M Carver, Mrs R Cheswright, K Crofton, A Dearman, L Haysey, T Herbert, Mrs D Hollebon, Mrs D Hone, A Jackson, G Jones, J Jones, G Lawrence, J Mayes, G McAndrew, M McMullen, P Moore, W Mortimer, M Newman, T Page, P Phillips, M Pope, J Ranger, C Rowley, P Ruffles, S Rutland-Barsby, R Sharma, N Symonds, J Taylor, J Thornton, M Tindale, A Warman, G Williamson, N Wilson, J Wing, C Woodward, M Wood, B Wrangles and J Wyllie.

OFFICERS IN ATTENDANCE:

Simon Drinkwater	 Director of Neighbourhood Services
Jeff Hughes	 Head of Democratic and Legal Support
Martin Ibrahim	Services - Democratic Services Team Leader
Lorraine Kirk	- Senior Communications Officer
Adele Taylor	 Director of Finance and Support Services

23 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN

It was moved by Councillor A Jackson and seconded by Councillor M Alexander that Councillor R Beeching be appointed Chairman for this meeting.

> <u>RESOLVED</u> - that Councillor R Beeching be appointed Chairman for this meeting.

24 <u>MINUTES</u>

<u>RESOLVED</u> – that the Minutes of the joint meeting of the Executive, committees, sub-committees and panels held on 15 May 2013, be agreed and signed by the Chairman as a correct record.

25 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMEN, SUB-COMMITTEES, PANELS, ETC

The Head of Democratic and Legal Support Services submitted a report seeking approval for the appointment of Chairmen to Committees set up by Council at its Annual meeting on 14 May 2014 and the establishment of subcommittees and panels.

It was noted that the appointment of Vice-Chairmen would be dealt with at the next meetings of the relevant committees.

The joint meeting noted the nominations of each political group to the seats on sub-committees and panels as detailed in the report now submitted and approved the recommendations as now detailed.

> <u>RESOLVED</u> – that (A) the following Sub-Committees and Panels be appointed, with the number of voting Members stated:

Sub-Committee/Panel

Licensing Sub-Committee	3
Standards Sub-Committee	3
Director Recruitment Panel	5
Local Joint Panel (4 Members of the Council and 4 representatives of employees drawn from UNISON with substitutes)	8
District Planning Executive Panel	3
Health and Wellbeing Panel	6

(B) the allocation of seats on Sub-Committees to political groups be as detailed in Essential Reference Paper 'B' of the report now submitted;

(C) as a consequence of the decisions at (A) - (B) above, the membership of Sub-Committees and Panels be as set out in Essential Reference Paper 'D' of the report submitted, with, where appropriate, Members being appointed in accordance with the wishes of the political groups to whom the seats on these bodies have been allocated;

(D) the Members detailed at Essential Reference Paper 'C' of the report submitted, be appointed as Chairmen of the bodies detailed; and

(E) the Director of Finance and Support Services be authorised to make changes in the standing membership of sub-committees and panels in (A) above, in accordance with the wishes of the political groups to whom seats on these bodies have been allocated.

The meeting closed at 8.06 pm